WSP Electric Vehicles Now


Oct 13 2020
10:00 AM

Transit in 2030: Building the Transit Fleet of Tomorrow Starts Today

John Drayton will kick off Electric Vehicles Now with a talk focused on where we are and where we're headed with zero emissions vehicles in 2030. His talk will provide an overview of how battery electric bus technology as one of the key enabling technologies to modernizing and revolutionizing New York’s transit fleets. The goal is to help transit industry professionals see a roadmap of where battery electric bus (BEB) technologies will be taking us, what the environmental and economic benefits are, and an outline of the incremental steps that are already underway that will continue pulling transit in this direction.

This session will run 25 minutes inclusive of Q&A.

This session is on the Main Route - Morning.


With  nearly 30 years of experience working in public transportation, John has become known as a leading expert and collaborator in the electric bus space. Prior to joining WSP, John worked for 25 years for LA Metro, most recently as its director for vehicle technology. He also served as the executive vice president for the Advanced Transit Vehicle Consortium and is a certified Project Management Professional. As the current National Lead for Advance Vehicle Programs at WSP, John works closely with municipal operators and technical staff to design and implement ZEB programs across the US.

Connect with John on Linkedin.


Online GoToWebinar


  • Opens: September 17, 2020
  • Closes: October 13, 2020



  • Speaker Presentation
  • Live Polling
  • Question & Answer Session


  • Adam Ruder, NYSERDA
  • Alva Carrasco, WSP
  • Anaïssia Franca, WSP
  • Anthony Courreges, C40 Cities
  • Prof. Catherine Lawson, University at Albany
  • Chris Reohr, NYSERDA
  • Cliff Henke, WSP
  • Dana Lowell, MJ Bradley & Associates
  • Haylee Ferington, Genesee/Finger Lakes Regional Planning Council
  • Heather Unger, WSP
  • Jewels Carter, WSP
  • Jim Wensley, WSP
  • John Drayton, WSP
  • John Heaton IV, WSP
  • Pat Carr, SolTrans
  • Phil Jonat, WSP
  • Shantelle Dreamer, WSP